This is R[e]A[lly] interesting

Image

Some BT-A residents enjoying a midnight snack

As an RA on campus I’ve had an interesting year. From showing up two weeks early for a brutal training that included long hours and a free steak dinner, to meetings about when to have meetings about another meeting, to hanging out with some really great people I would not have an opportunity to get to know otherwise. It has its ups and downs for sure, but overall it is a unique vantage point of residential life that not everyone going through college gets to see.

Sometimes this vantage point is washing a few gross dishes (not mine) that I promised myself I would not touch, other times it is organizing events for the larger COA community, other times it’s revising policies through the Student Life committee to get passed through All College Meeting.

Student leadership at COA is unique, I think it is a combination of our size, location (and thus either hiding from tourists together or being so isolated all we have are each other), and general operation. I’m proud to attend an institution that cares about each student as a whole person, that offers programming suited towards even the most eclectic interests, and that creates embedded leadership roles that help the residential program run smoothly while also developing leadership skills (and resumes…) of current students.

PS: I’m not getting paid to write this, I promise.

PPS: An info session will be held later winter term for those interested in applying for RA positions for the 2014-2015 school year.

5 thoughts on “This is R[e]A[lly] interesting

    • Thanks, I appreciate it. I only know a few RAs at other colleges but I definitely see it drawing in a specific type of person. I think that the college I attend combats that stereotype by intentionally hiring a range of students (which then works in our favor because we have a bunch of talented people in a range of social groups, clubs, and interests). Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, it is an assignment for a journalism class I am taking and feedback is always much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

